Merry Christmas. Write your report cards.

Christmas vacation: one week of eating, sleeping, reading, watching, writing, reading, some more eating and sleeping; one week of grading, grading, and grading. Here’s what I’ve achieved. The dalek is real.

dalek

If it means anything to you, most of the pile is writing. Stupid, stupid. Every semester I say I won’t collect writing in the final week, but I always do it. Half of this pile is NaNoWriMo excerpts. I was thrilled with what my students wrote!

This afternoon, I grumbled all the way to my classroom and started working out final grades and tidying comments. I was working away busily in my classroom when the door rattled. I ignored it – the wind, no doubt. A minute later I heard someone try the handle. As far as I knew I was the only person at school. Loud banging followed. The guards wouldn’t bang like that. I couldn’t see anyone through the glass panel next to the door. I carefully opened it and saw—

power ranger

My Power Ranger son, accompanied by my human daughter, had come to visit me. After peanut butter and Vita Wheats,  they lured me into watching funny cat videos and Ellen’s greatest pranks. Two hours later, they’ve gone home, and I’m still procrastinating. Not my fault. The blog was really overdue.

They’re going to call me when dinner’s ready.

What have I achieved in the last two weeks?

I did quite a bit of editing on my own NaNoWriMo novel in the first week and sent it to two people I trust. They really liked it. I’m a bit torn about how to proceed with revisions.

I’ve seen a ton of movies: Les Mis (Yay!), The Hobbit, Life of Pi, 28 Days Later, 28 Weeks Later, The Andromeda Strain (1971) and today I discovered Portlandia.

I’ve also been reading a lot over the last couple of weeks:

Delirum and Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver: Absolutely loved these.

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver: I didn’t love this one as much at first, because the MC is quite awful at the start of her journey, but I warmed to it. It’s great.

The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore: Fast fun. I think I like those books because I wish I was one of the ten. No burning scars, though. I guess my powers could still kick in.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern: I thought the best way to start this book was to sneak into the school library after dark and steal it. I might not have super powers but I do have keycard access to the library. Kind of the same, don’t you think? And don’t worry. I left a note for the librarian. I’m really enjoying this. It’s pace is very gentle—I’m about two thirds through, and the mood is brilliant. It’s magic in the Victorian, mysterious sense. Love it.

Now I’d really better get to work, or the spaghetti will be cooked and I’ll have nothing to show for it.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

