The Ngong Ping Analogy

Last week, my daughter asked me if we could go to the Big Buddha before she returns to college in the US. I told her sure, but having visited the gigantic statue several times before, I might wait at the bottom of the steps.

“How many are there?” she asked.

“About 5,000”, I said.

Since it was our last free Saturday together, we made a day of it: macaron testing, the ferry to Lantau, pink dolphins in the Pearl River estuary and non-stop eating. When we finally made it to the Big Buddha on Ngong Ping, the hill top was shrouded in cloud.

The Big Buddha was invisible.

“I don’t believe it exists,” said my daughter.

“He’s there,” I said. “You’ll see. He’ll emerge out of the mist. It’ll be very dramatic.”

Ten steps up, I realized I was living an analogy.

Big Buddha in the mist = the mystical, possibly mythical achievement of actually getting published. The photos tell the story. You can work it out. The captions will help if you get stuck.

Where are we?

Is there anything at the top of these stairs?

Just keep climbing.

What?

WAIT. THERE’S A BACK ENTRANCE? YOU CAN TAKE THE BUS TO THE TOP?

Becoming clearer.

“And I looked it up,” said my daughter. “It’s not 5,000 steps. It’s 250.”

11 thoughts on “The Ngong Ping Analogy

  1. Well done on ackowlegding your passion! I cant wait xx

  2. lelapinamoureux says:

    write!!! =) and i read!!!
    — dora

  3. Susan says:

    So impressed! Loved this piece
    Seriously?? Only 250 steps? Must have gone to another Bhudda! : )

  4. Naomi says:

    I love the way this piece reads. you are most talented, xx

  5. Sue says:

    So you’ve taken the plunge into the blogosphere! Good for you, Carolyn! I look forward to reading more of your journey.

  6. luciesmoker says:

    I love the feeling of coming up to the Buddha shrouded in mist. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

